Hell’s Bells, 1986

No it’s not the classic AC/DC single but a short lived BBC sitcom of the same name starring Derek Nimmo.

Hell’s Bells ran for 6 episodes in 1986.


The Dean of Norchester Cathedral, is a very traditional clergyman, and he is horrified when his new Bishop turns out to be a socialist with very modern ideas about Christianity.








Derek Nimmo – Dean Selwyn Makepeace
Phyllida Law – Edith Makepeace
Penelope Horner – Maudie Mountjoy
Susan Jameson – Emma Hethercote
Milton Johns – Wilfred Hankey
Robert Stephens – Bishop Godfrey Hethercote


Channel: BBC1
Written By: Jan Butlin
Original Transmission Dates: 9th June – 14th July 1986

Related Posts