Story number five for William Hartnell’s original Doctor and the second to be written by Dalek creator Terry Nation, he would only write one more non – Dalek story for Doctor Who and that would not be for eleven years when he would write The Android Invasion for Tom Baker.

This six part story first broadcast in 1964 took on unusual “quest” format, where each episode is its own mini-adventure in pursuit of a larger goal.  Indeed the story itself is often referred to as the Sea Of Death.

The idea of a machine that removes evil from people’s minds is used again in the Jon Pertwee story – The Mind Of Evil.


On a remote island of glass surrounded by a sea of acid, there is a machine that can remove evil from the minds of an entire population – the Conscience of Marinus.  Fearful of its immense power falling into the wrong hands, its sole guardian has scattered the machine’s operating keys across the planet. The TARDIS crew arrive to find the island under attack by the evil Voord.  Marinus’ last line of defence – and its only hope – is the Conscience machine.
The Doctor and his companions  undertake a deadly quest to recover the Keys of Marinus…



William Hartnell – The Doctor
Carole Ann Ford – Susan Foreman
Jacqueline Hill – Barbara Wright
William Russell – Ian Chesterton
George Coulouris — Arbitan
Martin Cort — Voord / Warrior / Ice Soldier / Aydan
Peter Stenson — Voord / Ice Soldier / Second Judge
Gordon Wales — Voord
Robin Phillips — Altos
Katherine Schofield — Sabetha
Heron Carvic — Voice of Morpho
Edmund Warwick — Darrius
Francis de Wolff — Vasor
Michael Allaby — Ice Soldier / Larn
Alan James — Ice Soldier / First Judge / Guard
Anthony Verner — Ice Soldier
Henley Thomas — Tarron
Raf De La Torre — Senior Judge
Fiona Walker — Kala
Donald Pickering — Eyesen
Stephen Dartnell — Yartek
Dougie Dean — Eprin


Channel: BBC1
Written By: Terry Nation
Produced By: Verity Lambert
Script Editor – David Whittaker
Original Transmission Dates: April 11th –May 16th, 1964

Related Posts