Ain’t Misbehavin’, 1994

Ain’t Misbehavin’ was a BBC sitcom from legendary script writer Roy Clarke.

Making it’s debut in 1995 it ran for 2 series of six episodes each.


Clive Quigley is happily married to his wife Melissa (or so he thinks).

His world is turned upside down when Sonia Drysdale comes along and informs him that her husband Dave is having an affair with his wife Melissa.  Initially Clive refuses to believe her.  Only after spying on Melissa and Dave together, does he realise the accusation was true.  As his world falls apart Clive even contemplates suicide.

Pulling himself together he and Sonia agree to join forces to split up the affair.  Not realising that Melissa and Dave haven’t actually committed adultery yet, Sonia and Clive hire a private detective called Chuck Purvis to build a case.







Peter Davison – Clive Quigley
Nicola Pagett – Sonia Drysdale
Lesley Manville – Melissa Quigley (series 1)
Karen Drury – Melissa Quigley (series 2)
John Duttine – Dave Drysdale
Polly Hemingway
Barry Stanton – Lester Whales (series 2)
Ian McNeice – Chuck Purvis (series 1)
Paul Brooke – Chuck Purvis (series 2)


Channel: BBC1
Written By: Roy Clarke
Original Transmission Dates: 20th March 1994 – 14th February 1995

Related Posts