The Russ Abbott Show, 1986

The Russ Abbott Show was effectively a continuation of the popular Russ Abbott’s Madhouse.

Madhouse had ran from from 1980 until 1985 on ITV.

In 1986 it transferred to BBC upon which it was renamed “The Russ Abbott Show”.  It ran for six series until 1991 when it’s ITV run ended.  It was picked up again by ITV in 1994 where it ran for a further two series until Christmas 1996.

Proving there was still life left in the show after the show ended the BBC picked it up again.  This time it moved to BBC Radio 2 where it ran for Fifty episodes from  November 1997 to February 2002.


Sketches with all the popular characters, including: Cooperman, CU Jimmy and Basildon Bond.






Starring: Russ Abbott


BBC1 (1986 – 1991)
ITV (1994 – 1996)
BBC Radio 2 (1997 – 2002)
Written By: Various
Original Transmission Dates: 1986 – 2002