Sorry I’m A Stranger Here Myself, 1981

Sorry I’m A Stranger Here Myself was an ITV sitcom that ran for thirteen episodes over two series.

The first series was written by actor David Firth alongside writer Peter Tilbury (Shelley and It Takes A Worried Man).  The second series was written by David Firth.


Henry Nunn is an unassuming librarian who has resigned himself to a life of henpecked mundanity in Datchet with his TV-addict wife, Sybil.

However things appear to be looking up, when, on his 60th birthday, he inherits a small fortune and the house of his birth.

Henry quits his job and leaves Datchet and Sybil behind, but his imagined escape to the scene of earlier happiness brings undreamed-of complications – perhaps he should have stayed in Datchet after all!







Robin Bailey
David Hargreaves
Nadim Sawaltha
Diana Rayworth
Christopher Fulford


Channel: ITV
Written By: David Firth and Peter Tilbury
Produced By: Thames Television for ITV
Original Transmission Dates: 15th June 1981 – 18th May 1982


Related Posts