Summertime Special, 1981

After the success of Seaside Special in the 1970’s, the BBC decided to revive the idea in the 1980’s.

This time instead of a Big Top the BBC visited seaside piers.  Very little information seems to exist about the show.  As far as we can ascertain it ran for eight series of nine shows each (fifty six episodes) between 1981 and 1988

The show ran until 1988 when it was felt that viewer habits were changing .


The show followed the same format as Seaside Special.  Guest presenters introducing musical guests, dancers and comedians.











Presented By: Various


Channel: BBC1
Original Transmission Dates: 21st July 1981 – 1988

Related Posts