That’s My Boy, 1981

Are You Being Served legend, Mollie Sugden is in fine form in this eighties classic. That’s My Boy ran for thirty seven episodes over five series between 1981 and 1986.  Produced by Yorkshire Television for ITV, it’s stood the test of time well.

The series was set in a modern high rise flat and modern Doctor’s surgery for the first three series, before changing it’s setting for it’s final two series to a country practice and cottage.


When Dr. Robert Price and his wife, Angie employ the services of an interfering housekeeper by the name of Ida Willis, they cannot possibly see the turn of events that are about to unfold.

Ida discovers that Robert is the son she gave up for adoption as a baby.  However Ida can’t keep her silence and has to tell Robert and she proceeds to call him Shane, the name she gave him when he was born.  The laughs come a plenty as Robert clashes with a past he didn’t know he had.

Other characters include Ida’s troublesome brother Wilfred, and Robert’s adoptive mother, Mrs. Price, an upmarket widow with whom Ida does not get on.










Mollie Sudgen – Ida Willis
Christopher Blake – Dr. Robert Price
Jennifer Lonsdale – Angie Price
Clare Richards – Mrs Price (Series 1 – 4)
Harold Goodwin – Wilfred Willis
Deddie Davies – Miss Parfitt (from Series 4)
Thelma Whiteley – Mrs Cross (Series 5)


Channel: ITV (Yorkshire Television)
Written by: Pam Valentine and Michael Ashton
Number of Episodes: 37
Original Transmission Dates: 23rd October 1981 – 4th April 1986


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.