Currently in the headlines for the upcoming episode of Goodnight Sweetheart, Nicholas Lyndhurst is all too often best remembered for his role as Rodney in Only Fools And Horses.

Here’s perhaps an often overlooked sitcom starring Nicholas Lyndhurst, The Piglet Files ran for three series totalling twenty one episodes between 1990 and 1992.

The series follows the life of a reluctant MI5 agent: Peter “Piglet” Chapman as he tries to instruct his fellow agents on the finer points of spy gadgetry while keeping his wife Sarah in the dark about his new career.


Set during the early 1990s, during the intervening period between the fall of the Berlin Wall and the collapse of the Soviet Unio.

MI5 is busy combating Soviet spies within the United Kingdom whilst facing their own agents’ ineptitude, and the ridicule of the sheer fact that the Soviet Union is no longer a threat.

However MI5 believes that the Soviets are indeed still a threat and intent on making trouble.

In an effort to overcome the incompetence of their own agents, MI5 looks to local University lecturer Peter Chapman.  However he is not keen.  MI5 set about convincing him by getting him sacked from the University,  leaving him no choice.

His new bosses, Maurice Drummond and Andrew Maxwell, assign him to the technology division, and he insists on having a codename, to further his identity in the world of spying.  He first asks for Puma, then Panther, but those are already in use and the only remaining P name is…”Piglet.” Piglet routinely joins the other field agents on missions—mainly to ensure that MI5 gets its equipment back.

Peter “Piglet” Chapman must now face down Soviet assassins and double agents while keeping his identity as an MI5 technician secret from everyone else, including his wife Sarah.



Peter “Piglet” Chapman – Nicholas Lyndhurst
Major Maurice Drummond – Clive Francis
Major Andrew Maxwell – John Ringham
Dexter – Michael Percival
Sarah Chapman – Serena Evans
Flint – Louise Catt
Lewis – Steven Law


Channel: ITV
Created And Written By: Brian Leveson and Paul Minett
Produced By: London Weekend Television
Original Transmission Dates: 7th September 1990 – 10th May 1992




Related Posts