One Foot In The Grave – 1990

Proof that comedy in the 1990’s was not just about revivals.  One Foot In The Grave has become one of the all time great British sitcoms.

Over an eleven year period between 1990 to 2001, One Foot In The Grave ran for six series, totalling 44 episodes including seven Christmas specials, two Comic Relief specials.  The latter Comic Relief special was shown after the series officially ended in Spring 2001.

In a 2004 poll to find Britain’s Best Sitcom it came in at number 10, should have been higher.


The series features the exploits of Victor Meldrew and his long-suffering wife, Margaret, in their battle against the trials of modern life.

After being forced to take involuntary early retirement, the series followed Victor’s various efforts to keep himself busy, whilst encountering various misfortunes and misunderstandings.







Richard Wilson
Annette Crosbie
Doreen Mantle
Angus Deayton
Janine Duvitski
Owen Brenman


Channel: BBC1
Written By: David Renwick
Original Transmission Dates: 4th January 1990 – 20th November 2000

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.