Shameless, 2004

Shameless was a Channel 4 comedy series that ran for 11 seasons from 2004 clocking up a mammoth 139 episodes during it’s run.

The show was a huge hit and with critics and audiences alike winning critical acclaim by various sections of the British media and in 2005, the show won Best Drama Series at the  BAFTATV Awards and Best TV Comedy Drama at the British Comedy Awards the same year.

In 2011 an American version of the show was produced by the Showtime network that ran for 10 seasons before, in 2020, the worldwide Covid-19 pandemic delayed the eleventh and final season which was re-sheduled for sreening in December 2020.

Versions of the series have alo been produced for the Turkish and Russian TV networks.


Set in Manchester on the fictional Chatsworth council estate.  The show centres around British working class culture and follows the lives of the dysfunctional Gallagher family and their neighbours.







David Threlfall – Frank Gallagher
Rebecca Atkinson – Karen Maguire
Alice Berry – Lillian Tyler

full cast listing: IMDB


Channel: Channel 4
Created By: Paul Abbott
Original Transmission Dates: 13th January 2004 – 28th May 2013




Related Posts