The Growing Pains Of PC Penrose, 1975

An early Roy Clarke sitcom.

In a former occupation seasoned sitcom writer Roy Clarke was a policeman in Yorkshire.  So it should come as no surprise that in one of his classic sitcoms he chose to write about a young policeman finding his feet on a new beat.

There was only one  series and it ran for seven episodes in 1975.  PC Penrose would pop up again in the later series ‘Rosie’ in 1979.


Earnest new recruit PC Penrose has left his home town and joined the force in the Yorkshire town of Slagcaster.

Young and naive it’s not long before seasoned office Sergeant Flagg takes him under his wing and shows him the ropes, However his methods can be a little unconventional.







Bryan Pringle – Sergeant Flagg
Paul Greenwood – PC Penrose
Alan Foss – PC Toombs
David Pinner – PC Buttress


Channel: ITV
Written By: Roy Clarke
Original Transmission Dates: 2nd September – 17th October 1975

Related Posts