Rosie, 1977

Another sitcom by a well known writer that perhaps gets overshadowed by all his other high profile successes.

An under-rated gem from writer Roy Clarke, that drew on his own experiences as a Policeman.  Rosie ran for 27 episodes over 4 series between 1977 and 1981 (it was not broadcast in 1980).

Set in the fictitious Yorkshire town of Ravensby an amalgamation of Ravenscar and Robin Hood’s Bay) and filmed in Clarke’s native South Yorkshire, with the majority of the opening scenes of series one filmed in the village of New Rossington, although the colliery shown in episode one is possibly Hatfield Colliery.

The first series of seven episodes, featuring the title character was broadcast in 1975, entitled: The Growing Pains of PC Penrose, it underwent a revamp with a new title, setting and signature tune, to become Rosie.


The series follows the fortunes of PC Penrose, the titular “Rosie”, a young and inexperienced police officer, played by Paul Greenwood, who moves back to live with his domineering Mother, in his hometown of Ravensby.







Paul Greenwood
Tony Haygarth
Frankie Jordan
Penny Leatherbarrow
Paul Luty
Avril Elgar (series 1–3)
Patricia Kneale (series 4)
Lorraine Peters
Allan Surtees
Don McKillop (series 1–3)
Maggie Jones (series 1–3)


Channel: BBC1
Written By: Roy Clarke
Original Transmission Dates: 5th January 1977 – 30th October 1981


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.