Beggar My Neighbour, 1966

Originally broadcast in 1966 as part of the BBC’s long running Comedy Playhouse series. Beggar My Neighbour went on to run for three series between 1967 and 1968.  In 1967 a short episode featured in Christmas Night With The Stars.

Of  the twenty three episodes produced only eight still exist in BBC archives.


Rose Garvey and her husband Gerald, live next door to her sister Lana Butt, and her husband Harry, in Larkworthy Road in Muswell Hill, North London.

Gerald is an underpaid junior executive, while Harry is a well-paid fitter. The slightly snobbish Gerald makes sure that he and Rose keep up a pretence of doing well even though they are not.

Meanwhile, the Butt’s relative wealth encourages Lana to put on airs and graces, although Harry remains down to earth.







Peter Jones
June Whitfield
Desmond Walter-Ellis
Reg Varney
Pat Coombs
Rosemary Faith

In The Archives

Eight episodes remain in BBC archives.  These are the first two episodes of series one and all six episodes from series two.


Channel: BBC1
Written By: Ken Hoare and Mike Sharland
Original Transmission Dates: 24th May 1966 – 26th March 1968


Related Posts