Grandma’s House, 2010

As classic differs in everyone’s book it’s always good to take a look back at newer comedy.  It’s when you do this you realise what you thought was recent is ten years old and that some of the real classics are now forty/fifty years old.

Grandma’s House was a BBC 2 offering that ran for two series of the usual six episodes each one in 2010 and the other in 2012. The series was generally well received gaining a positive reaction from both TV audiences and critics.


Meet Simon a successful ex-television presenter who has doubts about the direction of his career in the business and decides to quit to start searching for something more meaningful to do with his life.

The setting for each episode is his grandmother’s house, where Grandma welcomes her family, desperate to see everyone happy.








Simon – Simon Amstell
Grandma – Linda Bassett
Tanya – Rebecca Front
Auntie Liz – Samantha Spiro
Adam – Jamal Hadjkura
Grandpa (series 1 only) – Geoffrey Hutchings


Channel: BBC2
Written and Created By: Simon Amstell
Original Transmission Dates: 9th August – 13th September 2010 (series 1), 19th April – 24th May 2012 (series 2)

Related Posts