Happy Ever After – 1974

This is one of those sitcoms that needs dusting down and re-showing if only out of pure nostalgia.  Happy Ever After was the forerunner to Terry and June.  It ran for five series totaling forty one episodes between 1974 and 1979.

The series developed as a result of the long running Comedy Playhouse, that had started way back in 1961 as a vehicle for Galton and Simpson (back then it had been titled Galton and Simpson’s Comedy Playhouse).

To our knowledge it has only been repeated once in the last twenty years on UK Gold.


Terry and June Fletcher are a middle-aged, middle-class couple who find themselves home alone after their grown-up children, daughters Susan and Debbie, leave home.  However, it’s not long before they have company, as Aunt Lucy comes to live with them, along with her talking mynah bird.

Terry is the kind of person who frequently hits upon an idea, which due to his foolhardy and obsessive manner he then continues with whatever the consequences, while June remains patient and tolerant.







Terry Scott – Terry Fletcher
June Whitfield – June Fletccher
Beryl Cooke – Aunt Lucy


Channel: BBC1
Written By :
John T. Chapman
Eric Merriman
Christopher Bond
John Kane and Jon Watkins.
Original Run: 7th May 1974 – 25th April 1979


Related Posts

2 Responses

    • admin

      Thanks for letting us know we’ll ammend post accordingly and feature again nearer the time.


      British Classic Comedy


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.