Oh Happy Band – 1980

Oh Happy Band was a six part sitcom written by trusted writing team David Croft and Jeremy Lloyd.  In addition to an established writing team the series featured the very last TV appearance of Harry Worth.

Running for only one series of six episodes it did not receive a particularly good reception and has  has not been repeated or released on any home consumer media since it’s broadcast.


Harry Worth plays the conductor of a brass band in the small (fictional) Northern town of Nettlebridge.

When it is announced that a new airport is to be built over their town, Harry and his fellow band members become involved in a campaign to prevent it being built.


There’s not much about apart from these few credits sequences.






Harry Worth – Harry
Margaret Clifton – Miss Mayhew
Jonathan Cecil – Mr. Herbert
John Horsley – Mr. Braithwaite
Billy Burden – Mr. Sowerby
Tom Mennard – Mr. Pilgrim
Tony Sympson – Mr. Giles

Musical Sequences: Aldershot Brass Ensemble


Channel: BBC1
Written and Created By: David Croft and Jeremy Lloyd
Original Transmission Dates: 3rd September 1980 – 8th October 1980


Related Posts

One Response

  1. Stephen King

    It may not be Croft and Perry’s finest hour, or even Harry Worth’s, but as a show featuring a much loved comedian it would be wonderful to have it released on DVD.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.