Still Game, Still Got It

Still Game started life in the theatre as a stage play, featuring three characters: Jack Jarvis, Victor McDade, and Winston Ingram.

Due to a broken lift, the three men find themselves stranded in Victor’s flat discussing a variety of subjects ranging from death to sex.  The stage play toured Scotland, England, Ireland and Canada before returning to Glasgow, where it was filmed and released on video and DVD.

In 2002, after a few minor revisions, such as cast changes and creating support characters, Still Game made it to it’s own TV show.

Originally there were six series and two specials broadcast making forty eight episodes between 2002 and 2007 (the second Hogmanay Special was actually broadcast in January 2008 following BBC 1 Scotland’s Hogmanay broadcast).

The first three series were broadcast only on BBC One Scotland, although five episodes were selected from the first two series and later broadcast throughout the UK on BBC Two from January – February 2004.  All subsequent episodes were shown UK-wide on BBC Two.

After coming to an end in 2007, it would be 2014 before the characters returned in a live show at The SSE Hydro in Glasgow.  The show was a sell out playing to 210,000 people.  Later that year, in November 2014, a special sketch featuring Jack and Victor visiting the set of River City was made for Children in Need.

In 2016, nine years after the original ended Still Game returned for a six part series.  It returned to it’s record UK audience of 3.2 million, 1.3 of which were in Scotland.  In fact it took a 58% share of the Scottish TV audience for it’s first night.

The show would continue it’s return run with it’s eight series in 2018 and a ninth and final series in 2019.


Still Game focuses on the lives of two OAP’s Jack and Victor and their views on how it used to be in the old days and how bad it is now in the fictional town of Craiglang.





Ford Kiernan – Jack Jarvis
Greg Hemphill – Victor McDad
Paul Riley – Winston Ingram
Mark Cox – Tam Mullen
Gavin Mitchell – Boabby
Jane McCarry – Isa Drennan
Irene Ann Burt – Pub Regular
Sanjeev Kohli – Navid Harrid
James Martin – Eric
Shamshad Akhtar – Meena


BBC One Scotland (series 1-3)
BBC Two (selected episodes from series 1&2)
BBC One (2016–)
Created By: Ford Kiernan and Greg Hemphill
Original Transmission Dates: 6th September 2002 – 28th March 2019


Related Posts