Agony Again, 1995

Sequel to the 1970’s series ‘Agony’.  Fourteen years after the original series ended, Agony Again was offered to the original broadcaster ITV who turned it down.  It was pitched to the BBC as a potential Radio 4 comedy.  However at the time the BBC were resurrecting a number of old sitcoms so Agony Again made it to BBC1.

Agony Again ran for just one series of seven episodes.


Jane Lucas now has her own television show: “Lucas Live”. However, just as in the original series, she neglects her own problems, including her son (who comes out as gay during the series), and focuses on other people’s, especially those of homeless former businessman Richard.

She has the beginnings of a romance with Daniel, a social worker . Jane’s producer is Debra and her Mother Bea, who was determined for her to remarry, is still a main character in this sequel.









Maureen Lipman – Jane Lucas
Maria Charles – Bea Fisher
David Harewood – Daniel
Doon Mackichan – Debra
Sacha Grunpeter
Niall Buggy – Richard
Valerie Edmund – Catherine
Robert Whitson – Will Brewer
Simon Wiliams – Laurence Lucas


Channel: BBC1
Created By: Len Richmond and Anna Raeburn
Written By: Carl Gorham, Michael Hatt and Amanda Swift
Original Transmission Dates: 31st August – 12th October 1995



Related Posts