From caimbridge footlights to bbc radio 2 it's I'm Sorry I\lll read that again

I’m Sorry I’ll Read That Again

I’m Sorry I’ll Read That Again, 1964

I’m Sorry I’ll Read That Again originated from the famous Cambridge University Footlights (an amateur dramatic club in Cambridge, run by Cambridge University students).

It attracted a devoted youth following, with live recordings being more akin to a rock concert than a comedy show, a tradition that continued through to it’s successor I’m Sorry I Haven’t A Clue.

After a Pilot show broadcast in 1963 under the title “Cambridge Circus”, I’m Sorry i’ll read That Again ran for nine series across various BBC Radio stations between 1964 and 1973.  An hour long 25th anniversary show was broadcast in 1989.

A spin off show I’m Sorry I Haven’t A Clue started in 1972 and is still running to this day.

By the time it came to an end the show had clocked up one hundred and four episodes.


Madcap sketches and send ups of popular celebrities of the time.









Tim Brooke Taylor
John Cleese
Graeme Garden
David Hatch
Jo Kendall
Bill Oddie


BBC Home Service (series 1)
BBC Light Programe (series 2 – 5)
BBC Radio 2 (series 6 – 9)
Original Transmission Dates: 3rd April 1964 – 23rd December 1972

I’m Sorry I’ll Read That Again runs regularly on digital radio channel ; BBC 4 Extra.