The Top Secret Life of Edgar Briggs

The Top Secret Life of Edgar Briggs, 1974

He’s starred in some of our best loved sitcoms and these days when we hear the name David Jason we immediately recall Del Boy or Granville.

This early David Jason sitcom lasted just one series, however there were 13 episodes.

The series itself has been likened to an earlier American TV series – Get Smart.


David Jason plays the inept Edgar Briggs, personal assistant to the Commander of the British Secret Intelligence Service.

Briggs is an agent who, in spite of his cluelessness, manages to solve case after case.





Watch episode one






David Jason – Edgar Briggs
Noel Coleman – The Commander
Michael Stainton – Buxton
Mark Eden – Spencer
Barbara Angell – Jennifer Briggs
Elizabeth Counsell – Cathy


Channel: ITV
Written By: Bernard McKenna & Richard Laing
Produced By: London Weekend Television for ITV
Original Transmission Dates: 15th September – 20th December, 1974