The Larkins, 1958

As the title suggested it’s not The Larkins as recently seen on ITV , or those from the original Darling Buds Of May.

The Larkins was an early ITV sitcom that ran for forty episodes over six series.

The show originally ran for four series between 1958 and 1960.  It took a break and with some changes to the original plot it returned for a further two series between 1963 and 1964.

Unlike many TV shows of the time all episodes still exist in the archives.


For the first four series, the story focuses on the Larkin family: Ada Larkin, her hen-pecked husband Alf, their son Eddie , daughter Joyce and her ex-GI husband Jeff.

They all live together at 66 Sycamore Street, next door to inquisitive neighbour Hetty Prout, her husband Sam, and their daughter Myrtle, who has an occasional fling with Eddie.

For the final two series, Ada and Alf have an empty nest, they move away from Sycamore Street, and run a café, employing ex neighbour Hetty. They take in a lodger named Major Osbert Rigby-Soames, who always tries to avoid paying his rent.








Peggy Mount
David Kossoff
Shaun O’Riorden
Ruth Trouncer
Ronan O’ Casey
Barbara Mitchell


Channel:  ITV
Created By: Fred Robinson
Produced By: ATV for ITV
Original Transmission Dates:
19th September 1858 – 15th October 1960 (series 1 – 4)
9th November 1963 – 22nd August 1964 (series 5  and 6)

In The Archive

Surprisingly for a sitcom of this time ALL episodes still exist in the archives.

Where To Watch

The series was released to DVD on the now defunct Network label.  It doesn’t currently appear on any major streaming services.  Selected episodes can be found on You Tube.